+ -Text Size

Award Categories

The Luther L. Terry Awards

Six separate and distinct awards constitute the Luther L. Terry Awards:

The Award for Outstanding Individual Leadership recognizes a person who has made significant and well-recognized contributions to the improvement of general health and to the specific field of tobacco control. The award honors leadership and creative effectiveness in applying scientific knowledge and/or innovative organizational expertise to the betterment of community health and in furthering the goals of tobacco prevention and control. Individuals who reside in low- and middle-income nations will be given special consideration, whether their work is on a global, regional, country, state, and/or municipal level.

The Outstanding Organization Award is designed to recognize a specific impact on tobacco control and prevention by an organizational entity through extensive and outstanding service in focusing attention on problems associated with tobacco use. Private, non-profit, or voluntary organizations and associations anywhere in the world whose spheres of influence and action are on a global, regional, country, state, and/or municipal level are eligible for nomination. Government entities are not eligible in this category.

The Outstanding Research Contribution Award recognizes an individual who has made distinct contributions to tobacco science research and whose research has significantly impacted tobacco control policy and advocacy in a country, a region, or the world. Nominees should be highly qualified individuals who have made notable discoveries through persistent dedication to research within the field of tobacco control. Research conducted might include, but is not limited to, scientific research on such topics as addiction; disease prevention or epidemiology; and policy-related research on such topics as cessation, education, or legislation.

The Award for Exemplary Leadership by a Government Ministry recognizes bold and sustained leadership in building alliances with the non-governmental sector and in effectively addressing the growing tobacco epidemic in the nation involved. As an example, the Ministry of Health should have taken specific and significant steps to demonstrate overall commitment to tobacco control within the country. These may include working to implement provisions of the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC), such as banning tobacco advertising and promotion, implementing tobacco control awareness campaigns, and spearheading 100% smoke-free air legislation; or enforcing legislated tobacco-free ordinances, promoting abstention from tobacco within the medical community, working for tobacco-free schools, or applauding tobacco-free kids. All nations are eligible, and nominations of low- and middle-income countries are particularly encouraged.

The Distinguished Career Award recognizes an individual’s long-term leadership in the field of tobacco control. Nominees should be highly qualified persons who have made significant contributions over a period of 10 or more years and who have noticeably furthered the goals of tobacco control. This award is intended to recognize sustained dedication, support, loyalty and contributions as expressed through leadership, policy, advocacy, research, media, publications, education and/or program development, and management. Individuals whose work is on a global, regional, country, state, and/or municipal level are eligible for nomination.

The Outstanding Community Service Award recognizes an individual who has worked at the grassroot level to mobilize and motivate individuals and/or organizations working in tobacco control. Nominees should be individuals who have proven experience in successfully building coalitions, forging relationships with disparate groups, and /or working in and with their surrounding community to promote tobacco control in their municipality, state, country, and/or region. Nominations of individuals from low- and middle-income countries are encouraged.

Please note: Nominees may only be considered for one award category. The Selection Committee may choose not to present an award in a specific category if the committee decides that the nominees for that category do not meet the award criteria.