Office of National Vice President of Extramural Research

William H. Chambers, PhD, Interim National Vice President of Extramural Research

Department Contact Information
(404) 329-7558
Fax (404) 417-5974
grants@cancer.org

Kim A. Smith, Manager, Administrative Services
(404) 329-7537
kim.a.smith@cancer.org


Program Offices and Peer Review Committees

Molecular Genetics and Biochemistry of Cancer

  • DNA Mechanisms in Cancer (DMC)
  • RNA Mechanisms in Cancer (RMC)
  • Tumor Biochemistry and Endocrinology (TBE)

Michael H. Melner, PhD, Program Director
contact: Christa Whitaker, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5754
christa.whitaker@cancer.org

Cancer Cell Biology And Metastasis

  • Cell Cycle and Growth Control (CCG)
  • Cell Structure and Metastasis (CSM)
  • Development, Differentiation, and Cancer (DDC)

Charles (Karl) Saxe, PhD, Program Director
contact: Rosolynn Barron, Grant Program Supervisor
(404) 329-7548
rosolynn.barron@cancer.org

Preclinical and Translational Cancer Research

  • Cancer Drug Discovery (CDD)
  • Microbial Pathogenesis and Cancer (MPC)
  • Tumor Biology and Genomics (TBG)

William Phelps, PhD, Program Director
contact: Leigh Hoffner, CRA, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-4360
leigh.hoffner@cancer.org

Clinical Cancer Research and Immunology

  • Clinical Cancer Research and Epidemiology (CCE)
  • Carcinogenesis, Nutrition, and the Environment (CNE)
  • Leukemia, Immunology, and Blood Cell Development (LIB)

William Chambers, PhD, Program Director
contact: Janet Harris, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-7543
janet.harris@cancer.org

Cancer Control and Prevention Research

  • Cancer Control and Prevention: Psychosocial and Behavioral Research (CPPB)
  • Cancer Control and Prevention: Health Policy and Health Services (CPHPS)
  • Palliative Care and Symptom Management Research (PCSM)

Elvan C. Daniels, MD, MPH, Program Director
contact: Joseph Cotter, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5740
joseph.cotter@cancer.org

Health Professional Training in Cancer Control and Institutional Research Grants
Primary Care Physician Awards

  • Physician Training Awards in Cancer Control
  • Scholarships in Oncology Nursing
  • Oncology Social Work Training
  • Institutional Research Grants

Virginia Krawiec, MPA, Program Director
contact: Danielle Alsander, Grant Program Supervisor
(404) 329-5734
danielle.alsander@cancer.org


Research Business Office

Mary LeMahieu, Research Business Manager
(404) 329-7534
mary.lemahieu@cancer.org

Sherae Gillespie, Grants Specialist
(404) 929-6803
sherae.gillespie@cancer.org


Office of Research Integration

Joya Harris, MPH, Director
(404) 417-8048
joya.harris@cancer.org

Sherial Thornton, Staff Assistant
(404)329-5783
sherial.thornton@cancer.org


Office of Research Special Funding

Nichelle Edwards, Manager
(404) 329-7734
nichelle.edwards@cancer.org


Office of Constituent Engagement

Kenly Belt, Manager
(404) 329-7968
kenly.belt@cancer.org


Office of Operations

Debbie McCoy-Massey, Manager of Operations
(404) 329-6439
debbie.mccoy-massey@cancer.org

Annette Jordan, Grants Application Specialist
(404) 329-7546
annette.jordan@cancer.org

Greta McShan, Grants Analyst
(404) 329-7536
greta.mcshan@cancer.org

Shannon Mejri, Operation Systems Specialist
(404) 329-7605
shannon.mejri@cancer.org

Sonia Pearce, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-7539
sonia.pearce@cancer.org


Office of Research Information Management

T.J. Koerner, PhD, Director
(404) 329-7702
TJ.Koerner@cancer.org