+ -Text Size

Staff Contacts

Extramural Grants Department


Office of National Vice President of Extramural Research

David Ringer, PhD, MPH, National Vice President of Extramural Research

Department contact information:
(404) 329-7558
Fax (404) 417-5974
grants@cancer.org

Kim A. Smith, Manager, Administrative Services
(404) 329-7537
kim.a.smith@cancer.org


Program Offices and Peer Review Committees

Molecular Genetics and Biochemistry of Cancer

DNA Mechanisms in Cancer (DMC)
RNA Mechanisms in Cancer (RMC)
Tumor Biochemistry and Endocrinology (TBE)

Michael H. Melner, PhD, Program Director

Christa Whitaker, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5754
christa.whitaker@cancer.org

Cancer Cell Biology And Metastasis

Cell Cycle and Growth Control (CCG)
Cell Structure and Metastasis (CSM)
Development, Differentiation, and Cancer (DDC)

Charles (Karl) Saxe, PhD, Program Director

Rosolynn Barron, Grant Program Supervisor
(404) 329-7548
rosolynn.barron@cancer.org

Preclinical and Translational Cancer Research

Cancer Drug Discovery (CDD)
Microbial Pathogenesis and Cancer (MPC)
Tumor Biology and Genomics (TBG)

William Phelps, PhD, Program Director

Leigh Hoffner, CRA, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-4360
leigh.hoffner@cancer.org

Clinical Cancer Research and Immunology

Clinical Cancer Research and Epidemiology (CCE)
Carcinogenesis, Nutrition, and the Environment (CNE)
Leukemia, Immunology, and Blood Cell Development (LIB)

William Chambers, PhD, Program Director

Janet Harris, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-7543
janet.harris@cancer.org

Cancer Control and Prevention Research

Cancer Control and Prevention: Psychosocial and Behavioral Research (CPPB)
Cancer Control and Prevention: Health Policy and Health Services (CPHPS)
Palliative Care and Symptom Management Research (PCSM)

Elvan C. Daniels, MD, MPH, Program Director

Joseph Cotter, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5740
joseph.cotter@cancer.org

Health Professional Training in Cancer Control and Institutional Research Grants

Primary Care Physician Awards
Physician Training Awards in Cancer Control
Scholarships in Oncology Nursing
Oncology Social Work Training
Institutional Research Grants

Virginia Krawiec, MPA, Program Director

Danielle Alsander, Grant Program Supervisor
(404) 329-5734
danielle.alsander@cancer.org


Research Business Office

Mary LeMahieu, Research Business Manager
(404) 329-7534
mary.lemahieu@cancer.org


Office of Research Integration

Joya Harris, MPH, Director
(404) 417-8048
joya.harris@cancer.org

Sherial Thornton, Staff Assistant
(404)329-5783
sherial.thornton@cancer.org


Office of Research Special Funding

Nichelle Edwards, Manager
(404) 329-7734
nichelle.edwards@cancer.org


Office of Constituent Engagement

Kenly Belt, Manager
(404) 329-7968
kenly.belt@cancer.org


Office of Operations

Debbie McCoy-Massey, Manager of Operations
(404) 329-6439
debbie.mccoy-massey@cancer.org

Greta Hubert, Grants Analyst
(404) 329-7536
greta.hubert@cancer.org

Annette Jordan, Grants Application Specialist
(404) 329-7546
annette.jordan@cancer.org

Shannon Mejri, Operation Systems Specialist
(404) 329-7605
shannon.mejri@cancer.org

Sonia Pearce, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-7539
sonia.pearce@cancer.org


Office of Research Information Management

T.J. Koerner, PhD, Director
(404) 329-7702
TJ.Koerner@cancer.org