2009 Luther L. Terry Awards Selection Committee

Thomas J. Glynn, PhD (chair)
Director, Cancer Science and Trends and Director, International Cancer Control
American Cancer Society

Gro Harlem Brundtland, MD
Director General (1998-2003)
World Health Organization

Simon F. Chapman, PhD
Professor of Public Health
School of Public Health
University of Sydney

Prakash C. Gupta, MSc, PhD
Healis -- Sekhsaria Institute for Public Health

Margaretha Haglund
Director of Tobacco Control
National Institute of Public Health

Mary Harney, TD
Minister for Health and Children
Department of Health and Children, Republic of Ireland

Tony Holohan, MB BCh BAO, DCH, MPH, Dip Mgmt, FFPHMI, MICGP
Deputy Chief Medical Officer
Department of Health and Children, Republic of Ireland

Michael Heron
American Cancer Society Emeritus
American Cancer Society

Laurent Huber
Framework Convention Alliance

Ruben Israel, MIAG, DIU
International Union Against Cancer Emeritus

Catherine L. Jo
Manager, International Tobacco Control
American Cancer Society

Luk Joossens
Tobacco Control Manager, Belgian Foundation Against Cancer
Advocacy Officer, Association of European Cancer


Mary Assunta Kolandai, BA, MPH, PhD
Director of the International Tobacco Control Project, Cancer Council Australia
Policy Development Advisor, Southeast Asia Tobacco Control Alliance

Isabel Mortara, MBA
Executive Director
International Union Against Cancer

Matthew Myers
Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids

Michael Pertschuk, JD
Past Co-Director
The Advocacy Institute

Richard Peto, MSc, MA
Professor of Medical Statistics and Epidemiology
University of Oxford

Anbumani Ramadoss, MD
Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
Government of India

Bungon Ritthiphakdee, BA, MSW
Southeast Asia Tobacco Control Alliance

Luiz Santini, MD
Director General
Brazil Ministry of Health
Instituto Nacional de Cancer

Kenneth E. Warner, PhD
Dean of School of Public Health
Avedis Donabedian Distinguished University Professor of Public Health
School of Public Health, University of Michigan

Witold Zatonski, MD, PhD
Director, Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Cancer Prevention
The Maria Sklodowska-Curie Memorial Cancer Center & Institute of Oncology

Carys Horgan (secretariat)
American Cancer Society

The American Cancer Society medical and editorial content team

Our team is made up of doctors and oncology certified nurses with deep knowledge of cancer care as well as journalists, editors, and translators with extensive experience in medical writing.