Luther L. Terry Award Terms, Eligibility, and Timeline

Terms of the Awards

Award recipients are selected by the Luther L. Terry Award Selection Committee, which is comprised of internationally recognized tobacco control experts who represent the world's geographic regions. Each recipient receives a commemorative medal and attendant media coverage. No monetary reward is associated with the honor.

The awards are presented every three years at the World Conference on Tobacco OR Health.

Eligibility Criteria

Each nomination is carefully reviewed by the Award Selection Committee. In general:

  • Nominees must have a demonstrated record of consistent excellence in tobacco control.
  • Nominees must have served as exemplars and role models to others in the tobacco control movement.
  • Nominees must have employed innovative, creative approaches to tobacco control.
  • Nominees must not have any affiliation with the tobacco industry.

Any tobacco control advocate or organization meeting the above criteria and the qualifications set forth in the Award Category descriptions may be nominated for individual awards, including educators, social workers, grassroots organizers, academic and scientific researchers, government officials, physicians, and members of nongovernmental organizations (NGOs).

Timeline and nomination guidelines

Download the Call for Nomination Packet and Nomination Form.

Please email the completed nomination form, two letters of support, the nominee’s curriculum vitae, and a summary of their tobacco control activities to by September 29, 2017.