Cancer Survivors Awarded Scholarships in Mississippi

The Mid-South Division of the American Cancer Society is pleased to announce that 223 young cancer survivors have each been awarded a $1,000 college scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year. Eighteen of those recipients are from Mississippi.
Scholarships were awarded based on financial need, leadership, academic achievement and community service. To be eligible, candidates must be under 25, have had a cancer diagnosis before age 21 and be a Mid-South resident. Students must also have a GPA of at least 2.5 and been accepted to an accredited school.

Ashley Nicole Bass, Monticello
Ali Blackledge, Laurel
Lori Carter Hillman, Leaksville
Jason Edward Engel, Hernando
Ruth Austin Gant, Winona
Elizabeth Ashley Gullap, Ripley
Beverly Ann Hannaford, New Albany
Harrison Kremer Kajdan, Gulfport
April Kimes, Greenville
Donald Matthew Little, Clinton
Jordyn Meranto, Kiln
Cody Miller, Olive Branch
Mudesha Monroe, Philadelphia
Ned A. Nelson, Hattiesburg
Philip Andrew Russell, Brandon
Ashley Victoria Thomas, Macon
Sam Christopher Tumminello Jr., Natchez
Susanna K. Young, Clinton