2019 Board of Directors

The American Cancer Society, Inc. Board of Directors is composed of five officers and 16 directors. Directors are elected for a two-year term. The all-volunteer board is responsible for setting policy, establishing long-term goals, monitoring general operations, and approving the organizational outcomes and allocation of resources.


Daniel P. Heist, CPA — Chair 
Jeffrey L. Kean — Vice Chair
Carmen E. Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP — Board Scientific Officer
John Alfonso, CPA, CGMA — Secretary/Treasurer
Kevin J. Cullen, MD — Immediate Past Chair


Joseph A. Agresta, Jr. 
Bruce N. Barron 
Edward J. Benz, MD, FACP 
Jennifer R. Crozier 
Mark A. Goldberg, MD
Gareth T. Joyce
Amit Kumar, PhD
Michelle M. Le Beau, PhD 
Brian A. Marlow, CFA 
Michael T. Marquardt 
Margaret McCaffery 
Terri McClements
Joseph M. Naylor 
William D. Novelli 
Gregory L. Pemberton, Esq. 
Gary S. Shedlin