Council for Extramural Grants

The Council for Extramural Grants is a multidisciplinary panel of mid-level and senior scientists, most of whom have previously served on the Peer Review Committees. The principal responsibilities of the Council are to set the payline for the various committees and to advise the American Cancer Society on research policy issues and health professional training. Members base their recommendations for funding on the relative merit of the applications, the amount of available funds and the Society's objectives. Stakeholders, individuals with a personal interest in cancer, are full voting members of the Council.

James R. Cerhan, MD, PhD, Chair
Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
Rochester, MN

Dana Bovbjerg, PhD
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York, NY

Debbie Bryant, Stakeholder
Colleyville, TX

Jemmabella L. Cabral, Stakeholder
South Elgin, IL

John M. Cunningham, MD
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Wafik El-Deiry, MD, PhD, FACP
Fox Chase Cancer Center
Philadelphia, PA

Bernard A. Fox, PhD
Providence Portland Medical Center
Portland, OR

Arthur Gmitro, PhD
University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ

Carmen R. Green, MD
The Regents of the University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

Iswar K. Hariharan, MD, PhD
University of California
Berkeley, CA

John T. Hunt, PhD
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Princeton, NJ

Stephen Hursting, MPH, PhD
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC

Gregory Longmore, MD
Washington University School of Medicine
Saint Louis, MO

Robin G. Lorenz, MD, PhD
University of Alabama
Birmingham, AL

Patrick S. Moore, MD
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Duojia Pan, PhD
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

Kevin Shannon, MD
The Regents of the University of California
San Francisco, CA

Carolyn L. Smith, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Kurt C. Stange, MD, PhD
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH

Daniel M. Sullivan, MD
Moffitt Cancer Center, University of South Florida
Tampa, FL

Song Tan, PhD
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA

John E. Tavis, PhD
Saint Louis University
St. Louis, MO

Dave Wesley, Stakeholder
Placerville, CA