Extramural Grants Department Staff Contacts

Office of Senior Vice President of Extramural Research

William H. Chambers, PhD, Senior Vice President of Extramural Research

William C. Phelps, PhD, Vice President of Extramural Research

Department Contact Information
(404) 329-7558
Fax (404) 417-5974
grants@cancer.org

Sonia Pearce, Senior Administrative Assistant
(404) 329-7539
sonia.pearce@cancer.org

Kim A. Smith, Manager, Administrative Services
(404) 329-7537
kim.a.smith@cancer.org

Program Offices and Peer Review Committees

Molecular Genetics and Biochemistry of Cancer

  • DNA Mechanisms in Cancer (DMC)
  • RNA Mechanisms in Cancer (RMC)
  • Tumor Biochemistry and Endocrinology (TBE)

Michael H. Melner, PhD, Program Director
contact: Christa Whitaker, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5754
christa.whitaker@cancer.org

Cancer Cell Biology And Metastasis

  • Cell Cycle and Growth Control (CCG)
  • Cell Structure and Metastasis (CSM)
  • Development, Differentiation, and Cancer (DDC)

Charles (Karl) Saxe, PhD, Program Director
contact: Rosolynn Barron, Grant Program Supervisor
(404) 329-7548
rosolynn.barron@cancer.org

Preclinical and Translational Cancer Research

  • Cancer Drug Discovery (CDD)
  • Microbial Pathogenesis and Cancer (MPC)
  • Tumor Biology and Genomics (TBG)

William Phelps, PhD, Program Director
contact: Leigh Hoffner, CRA, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-4360
leigh.hoffner@cancer.org

Clinical Cancer Research, Nutrition, and Immunology

  • Clinical Cancer Research and Epidemiology (CCE)
  • Leukemia, Immunology, and Blood Cell Development (LIB)
  • Nutrition, the Environment, and Immunology (NEC)

Susanna Greer, PhD, Program Director
contact: Janet Harris, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-7543
janet.harris@cancer.org

Cancer Control and Prevention Research

  • Cancer Control and Prevention: Psychosocial and Behavioral Research (CPPB)
  • Cancer Control and Prevention: Health Policy and Health Services (CPHPS)
  • Palliative Care and Symptom Management Research (PCSM)

Elvan C. Daniels, MD, MPH, Program Director
contact: Chanda Felton, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5740
chanda.felton@cancer.org

Health Professional Training in Cancer Control 

  • Physician Training Awards in Cancer Control
  • Primary Care Physician Awards
  • Scholarships in Oncology Nursing
  • Oncology Social Work Training
  • Institutional Research Grants

Virginia Krawiec, MPA, Program Director
contact: Stella Jones, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5734
stella.jones@cancer.org

Research Business Office

Mary LeMahieu, Research Business Manager
(404) 329-7534
mary.lemahieu@cancer.org

Sherae Gillespie, Grants Specialist
(404) 929-6803
sherae.gillespie@cancer.org

Research Integration

Joya Harris, MPH, Director
(404) 417-8048
joya.harris@cancer.org

Sherial Thornton, Specialist
(404)329-5783
sherial.thornton@cancer.org

Research Special Funding

Zachary Morris, Manager
404-929-6821
zachary.morris@cancer.org

Constituent Engagement

Joseph Cotter, Manager
(404) 329-5773
joseph.cotter@cancer.org

Office of Operations

Debbie McCoy-Massey, Manager of Operations
(404) 329-6439
debbie.mccoy-massey@cancer.org

Annette Jordan, Grants Application Specialist
(404) 329-7546
annette.jordan@cancer.org

Greta McShan, Grants Analyst
(404) 329-7536
greta.mcshan@cancer.org

Shannon Pair, Operation Systems Specialist
(404) 329-7605
shannon.pair@cancer.org

Office of Research Information Management

T.J. Koerner, PhD, Director
(404) 329-7702
TJ.Koerner@cancer.org