Extramural Research Department Staff Contacts

Office of Senior Vice President of Extramural Research

William C. Phelps, PhD, Interim Senior President of Extramural Research

Department Contact Information
(404) 329-7558
Fax (404) 417-5974
grants@cancer.org

Sonia Pearce, Senior Administrative Assistant
(404) 329-7539
sonia.pearce@cancer.org

Kim A. Smith, Manager, Administrative Services
(404) 329-7537
kim.a.smith@cancer.org

Program Offices and Peer Review Committees

Molecular Genetics and Biochemistry of Cancer

  • DNA Mechanisms in Cancer (DMC)
  • RNA Mechanisms in Cancer (RMC)
  • Tumor Biochemistry and Endocrinology (TBE)

Michael H. Melner, PhD, Program Director
contact: Christa Whitaker, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5754
christa.whitaker@cancer.org

Cancer Cell Biology and Metastasis

  • Cell Cycle and Growth Control (CCG)
  • Cell Structure and Metastasis (CSM)
  • Development, Differentiation, and Cancer (DDC)

Charles (Karl) Saxe, PhD, Program Director
contact: Rosolynn Barron, Grant Program Supervisor
(404) 329-7548
rosolynn.barron@cancer.org

Translational Cancer Research

  • Cancer Drug Discovery (CDD)
  • Microbial Pathogenesis and Cancer (MPC)
  • Tumor Biology and Genomics (TBG)

Lynne Elmore, PhD, Program Director
contact: Kristen Wehling, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-7793
kristen.wehling@cancer.org

Clinical Cancer Research, Nutrition, and Immunology

  • Clinical Cancer Research, Nutrition, and Epidemiology (CCE)
  • Leukemia, Immunology, and Blood Cell Development (LIB)
  • Mission Boost Grant (MBG)

Susanna Greer, PhD, Program Director
contact: Janet Harris, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-7543
janet.harris@cancer.org

Cancer Control and Prevention Research

  • Cancer Control and Prevention: Psychosocial and Behavioral Research (CPPB)
  • Cancer Control and Prevention: Health Policy and Health Services (CPHPS)
  • Palliative Care and Symptom Management Research (PCSM)

Elvan C. Daniels, MD, MPH, Program Director
contact: Chanda Felton, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5740
chanda.felton@cancer.org

Health Professional Training in Cancer Control 

  • Physician Training Awards in Cancer Control
  • Scholarships in Oncology Nursing
  • Oncology Social Work Training
  • Institutional Research Grants

Virginia Krawiec, MPA, Program Director
contact: Stella Jones, Program Coordinator
(404) 329-5734
stella.jones@cancer.org

Research Business Office

Mary LeMahieu, Research Business Manager
(404) 329-7534
mary.lemahieu@cancer.org

April Jones, Grants Specialist
(404) 417-5907
april.jones@cancer.org 

Research Integration

Joya Harris, MPH, Director
(404) 417-8048
joya.harris@cancer.org

Sherial Thornton, Specialist
(404)329-5783
sherial.thornton@cancer.org

Research Special Funding

Zachary Morris, Manager
(404) 929-6821
zachary.morris@cancer.org

Constituent Engagement

Joseph Cotter, Manager
(404) 329-5773
joseph.cotter@cancer.org

Office of Operations

Linda Kee, MBA, PMP
Director, Operations and Peer Review
(404) 329-5776
linda.kee@cancer.org

Annette Jordan, Grants Application Specialist
(404) 329-7546
annette.jordan@cancer.org

Greta McShan, Grants Analyst
(404) 329-7536
greta.mcshan@cancer.org

Shannon Pair, Operation Systems Specialist
(404) 329-7605
shannon.pair@cancer.org

Tori Vogt, TheoryLab Community Manager
(404) 329-7903
tori.vogt@cancer.org

Office of Research Information Management

T.J. Koerner, PhD, Director
(404) 329-7702
TJ.Koerner@cancer.org